Wolf Faction

General

About this site
Login
Register

Forum

All Forums
FAQ

My stuff

Out-of-Character Information

General
New Picture Gallery
Old Picture Gallery
Events
Links
 

All times are UTC



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: The rule of double
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 9:31 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 4:56 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Leeds
Real Name: Liina
Hello all!
I am new to LT and DM guided me to these forums as a new recruitment for the Wolves:)
I was just about to send my pre-booking form away but decided to go over the CS and OSP again. And in my little research I found a thing called The rule of double which got me quite confused.

This rule applies to LHV, AV and Spell Cards. All of these values are limited to a maximum of double their base value no matter what means are used to increase them.A lammie, loresheet, OS, ritual effect or cast magic can all be used to increase these values but nothing can increase any value to more than double its starting amount. Anything bought with Character Points counts as the base value.
Where a character has several Base values, only the highest value will have an effect.

So as I understand there is no point to put any points to Power if I get either Healing, Spellcasting or Incantations as they don't sum up, but only the highest value of + Spell Cards counts? So if I for example get Healing 2 which gives me +12 Spell Cards and Power 2 which would give +8 Spell Cards it is not 12+8=20 Spell Cards but just 12?

Am I correct or did I get myself even more confused?

And thank you in advance:D

_________________
Ingrid The Fallen Valkyrie, Wolves Liaison to Healers Guild, Healers Guild Diplomat in all matters.
"The howling of Fenris is strong..."


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: The rule of double
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 9:53 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 9:05 am
Posts: 354
Location: Iver
Real Name: Keith Hall
Power 2 increases your base to 20 so double would be 40!

_________________
Rune, Paladin of Loki, Order of War.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: The rule of double
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 10:01 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 9:05 am
Posts: 354
Location: Iver
Real Name: Keith Hall
Top of page 50 of rule book power counts as +4 base cards per level.

Hope this helps

_________________
Rune, Paladin of Loki, Order of War.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: The rule of double
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 10:10 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 4:56 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Leeds
Real Name: Liina
Keefy wrote:
Top of page 50 of rule book power counts as +4 base cards per level.

Hope this helps


Exactly my point that power 2 would be + 8

but as the rulebook also sais:

Anything bought with Character Points counts as the base value.
Where a character has several Base values, only the highest value will have an effect.

So that's why I am confused XD

_________________
Ingrid The Fallen Valkyrie, Wolves Liaison to Healers Guild, Healers Guild Diplomat in all matters.
"The howling of Fenris is strong..."


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: The rule of double
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 10:16 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 4:56 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Leeds
Real Name: Liina
As I couldn't find any editing button then:

The question is can I use Healing and Power together to gain more spell cards or only the highest value counts?

_________________
Ingrid The Fallen Valkyrie, Wolves Liaison to Healers Guild, Healers Guild Diplomat in all matters.
"The howling of Fenris is strong..."


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: The rule of double
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 10:20 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 3:43 pm
Posts: 2602
Real Name: Malc
As Keefy has said above.

However, to add more detail, Healing 2 and Spell 1 would give you 16 base cards, as would Healing 2 and power 1 (using less CS points). The rule of double starts to have an influence when you bring OS into it. If you have just Healing 2 (12 base cards) and then start to work up the + cards OS tree there is a potential for problems. +4, +8 and +12 would all be fine (assuming no other factors) but if you were to get the +16 cards OS then the extra cards gained would be limited to 12 as this would be your base. The same applies if you gain an item that gives you this OS or replicates it.

So answering your final question, yes you can have both together to get more cards and it will also mean that should you find other ways of increasing your power, you probably have a high enough base to take full advantage.

_________________
You can take the man out of Norsca but you can't stop him beating the **** out of anything that annoys him.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: The rule of double
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 10:23 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 4:56 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Leeds
Real Name: Liina
Thank you for your answers:) I just got the same answer in LT forums so all good now:)

_________________
Ingrid The Fallen Valkyrie, Wolves Liaison to Healers Guild, Healers Guild Diplomat in all matters.
"The howling of Fenris is strong..."


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: The rule of double
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 10:32 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 1:24 pm
Posts: 9442
Location: North Herts / South Jotunheim
Real Name: Dave Miller
[Ships in the night! but I'll post my take on it as well.]

In simple terms:
if any CS give Base power then that adds up.
if any OS give "extra power" then that extra can't exceed base power.

Note that all the CS say "+ some Base power". Without any skills a character has 0 Base power.
The bit about multiple sources of Base power is probably to do with Special Powers that might provide Base power, so don't worry.

CS such as Healing come with so much Base power.
The CS Power N gives additonal Base power.

OS such as "+4 power" provide additiona (non-base) power.

In the example by Keefy, Healing gives 12 Base and Power2 gives "+8 Base" totaling 20 Base power, which leaves you clear all the way up to through the OS that give +4 to +16 (not base) power.

However, if someone only had Healing 1 then they would only get 4 Base power ( 0+4=4 :D ) and so could only benefit from the OS +4 cards and not the OS +8 cards or better.
Nor could they benefit from an Magic Item that granted more cards.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: The rule of double
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 10:36 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 4:56 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Leeds
Real Name: Liina
ok:D thank you:) All is clearer now :D

My problem was the word base there as I did not know if the Spell cards from healing and power stack. And they do.

But as Rich Whitaker stated in LT forums:
Light Armour and Paladins Armour each grant an absolute value of base AV (1AV for light armour, 2AV for Paladins Armour), so they don't stack - only the highest counts.

So therefor the rule of double might come out a bit confusing, but at least now the confusion is solved and I can send my pre-booking forms away knowing that I filled them in well :D

_________________
Ingrid The Fallen Valkyrie, Wolves Liaison to Healers Guild, Healers Guild Diplomat in all matters.
"The howling of Fenris is strong..."


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: The rule of double
PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 12:45 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 11:15 am
Posts: 2050
Location: Birmingham, UK
Real Name: Rich Gaunt
Also, if you're new to LT, I really wouldn't worry about the rule of double right now. ;)


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: The rule of double
PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 12:22 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 4:56 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Leeds
Real Name: Liina
Well I still like to know about stuff and if I get confused I think it's wise to ask not to keep myself confused:P Better ask before than later on when I need to know I don't. :)

_________________
Ingrid The Fallen Valkyrie, Wolves Liaison to Healers Guild, Healers Guild Diplomat in all matters.
"The howling of Fenris is strong..."


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: The rule of double
PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 4:59 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 11:15 am
Posts: 2050
Location: Birmingham, UK
Real Name: Rich Gaunt
I get what you mean, I am the same with new rules systems. Just saying that it's unlikely to be something that affects you during your first event. :)

That said, from the sounds of it, you already know the rules better than a good many players! ;)


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: The rule of double
PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 10:46 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 4:56 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Leeds
Real Name: Liina
I really doubt it:) But I just like to feel comfortable in knowing what I am doing:) I guess it's cause on my first LARP ever I didn't know anything about the rules so I was completely ignorant about some stuff, which made half of the players think that I am some extra strong sorcerer-thief. Was an interesting experience on its own but I would not like to repeat that.

_________________
Ingrid The Fallen Valkyrie, Wolves Liaison to Healers Guild, Healers Guild Diplomat in all matters.
"The howling of Fenris is strong..."


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: The rule of double
PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 10:17 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 2:14 pm
Posts: 1576
Real Name: mike
lilina dont worry if you forget rules....even the experienced players forget sometimes. theres plenty of refs and other players around that can guide you in it. theres also alot of players nr birmingham that can also help...

we were all new to something once so dont worry, get stuck in and have some fun!


mike

_________________
for fenris i stand, and in magic i have faith
RUN.......youll only die tired!


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: The rule of double
PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2011 4:02 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2004 12:52 pm
Posts: 3383
Location: York/Isle of Fjallay
Real Name: Darren Hill
There's rules?!? When did that happen?!? :lol:

_________________
Bryndlethyme Vethendruan Everember 'Bryn' Beren
(Darren 'Daz' Hill - M236)


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: The rule of double
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 2:24 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 11:29 pm
Posts: 404
Location: Sandiacre
Real Name: Steve Whittaker
With regards to the rule of double and Armour how would this go

I have cs Heavy armour use
I will eventually have armour mastery expert
If i wore crafted armour, what would the maximum value be allowed on that?

_________________
IC: Theirin, Storm Ravens
OC: "The Man Steven" Whittaker, M250


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: The rule of double
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 3:03 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 3:43 pm
Posts: 2602
Real Name: Malc
swhitty wrote:
With regards to the rule of double and Armour how would this go

I have cs Heavy armour use
I will eventually have armour mastery expert
If i wore crafted armour, what would the maximum value be allowed on that?


You could wear whatever you wanted, however you would gain a maximum benefit of +1AV from any crafted heavy armour that you wear because the armour mastery (whether advanced or expert) would already be providing the other 2 to give a total of 6AV.

The exception (sort of) to this would be if you were to acquire a suit of Fortress armour. This still requires heavy armour use CS but has a base value of 4AV and so you could still gain the benefits of up to +2AV on the armour in combination with the armour mastery for a total of 8AV. This type of armour can currently only be crafted by Master Armoursmiths and there aren't many of us around so cost and availability is always a factor with this armour (although it is generally far cheaper than rangers or skirmishers armour).

_________________
You can take the man out of Norsca but you can't stop him beating the **** out of anything that annoys him.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: The rule of double
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 3:24 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 11:29 pm
Posts: 404
Location: Sandiacre
Real Name: Steve Whittaker
I had wondered, as i'd seen some armour lammies with +4AV so thort it might be an idea to check up on it

ot heard that much about speciality armours though, so any info would be great? unless i would need to find out IC?

_________________
IC: Theirin, Storm Ravens
OC: "The Man Steven" Whittaker, M250


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: The rule of double
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 9:12 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 7:35 pm
Posts: 894
all it takes is a crushing blow or well placed blow through the armour and your 250 gold armor is worth as much as a woolly jumper. At least wooly jumpers come in all colours and keep you warm. for a fraction of the cost. They come from sheep though, not from armourers. But sometimes da difference is hard to tell.

_________________
-Gone fishing-


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The rule of double
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 9:29 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 9:15 pm
Posts: 1322
Location: Barnstaple, Devon
Real Name: Adie
The best5 defence is to not be there when the blow lands... :wink:

_________________
Brother Ulric. A smile, a song and a concussion....


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group